Winds of Change Short Story Competition


The Winds of Change Short Story Competition is running in conjunction with the 2016 Ex Libris Port Fairy Festival of Words, which is taking place this year on 9 to 11 September.

The challenge: Write a short story on this year’s festival theme, ‘Winds of Change’.

First prize: $500 Second prize: $250 Third prize: $100

Entry fee: $10 per story (payment to accompany entry form).

The competition closes at midnight on 15 August 2016 and entries must be in accordance with the submission guidelines.

Competition winners will be announced at the opening of the Ex Libris Festival of Words on 9 September 2016. Winners will be notified by phone or email.  Winning entries will be published in mini-book form and/or online.


Short Story Competition Winners

Ex Libris Port Fairy Festival of Words congratulates the winners of the 2016 ‘Winds of Change’ Story Writing Competition (judged by prize-winning author Steven Conte)

READ  'Borrowed Spaces' by Beverley Lello (1st prize adults)

READ 'There You Go Then' by Paul Bucci (2nd prize adults)

READ ''The Murder of Cambridge' by Ted Kelly (1st prize school)

READ 'Once....' by Jenna Winnen (2nd prize school)

READ "Ghostbusters - Marshmellow Man's Revenge" by Seth Beardsley (2nd prize school)

READ 'Trust No One When the World is at an End' by Hannah van der Aa (3rd prize school)

READ "The Haunted Candy Mansion" by Bridget Carbury (3rd prize school)




First Prize ($500)
Beverley Lello, Yackandandah – ‘Borrowed Spaces
Second Prize ($250)
Paul Bucci, Port Fairy – ‘There You Go Then
Third prize ($100)
Kerrin O’Sullivan, Middle Park – ‘A Bridge Too Far’

The following stories were highly commended:
Harry Reed, Coragulac – ‘At Argyll Farm’
Fran Collings, Ringwood North – ‘Cross my Palm’
Daniel Hutley, Brunswick – ‘Swedish Ivy’
Athena Norton, Port Fairy – ‘Anna, Trains and Houses’
Paul Bucci, Port Fairy – ‘Whoops’
Judi Mutsaers, Warrnambool – ‘Fart’

Well done all of you, and thank you to everyone who submitted an entry.


‘Winds of Change’ Schools Story Writing Competition

1st prize $100
Ted P Kelly, St Patrick's Primary School – ‘The Murder of Cambridge, 1957’

2nd prize (senior) $70
Jenna Winnen, St Patrick's Primary School – ‘Once…’

2nd prize (junior) $70
Seth Beardsley, Port Fairy Consolidated School – ‘Ghostbusters: Marshmallow Man’s Revenge

3rd prize (senior) $50
Hannah van der Aa, St Patrick's Primary School – ‘Trust No One When the World is at an End’

3rd prize (junior) $50
Bridget Carbury, Port Fairy Consolidated School – ‘The Haunted Candy Mansion

Highly commended - $15 each
Caitlin Williams, St Patrick's Primary School – ‘Danger and Puzzles’
Meg Matthews, St Patrick's Primary School – ‘Scarlett’s Fate’
Phoebe Reaburn, Port Fairy Consolidated School – ‘The Wizard’s Robe’
Abigail Langley, Port Fairy Consolidated School – ‘Alice and Ted’s Big Adventure’

Congratulations, and thank you to all students who took part in the workshops and contributed stories to the competition.